September 28, 2022


Verstappen, Leclerc and others set for major Belgian grid penalties after power unit change

A group of drivers, including title contenders Max Verstappen and Charles Leclerc, are set to start the Belgian Grand Prix from the back of the grid after the power component changes to their cars.

Verstappen, Leclerc and Lando Norris of McLaren, Esteban Ocon of Alpine, Mick Schumacher of Haas and Valtteri Bottas of Alfa Romeo will all have to start from the back of the grid after their teams chose to make the changes at the Spa track where overtaking is traditionally more feasible. than in certain other departments.

LIVE COVERAGE: Catch all the action from the first practice of the Belgian Grand Prix

Verstappen, Norris, Ocon and Bottas will have new internal combustion engines, turbochargers and MGU-Hs – putting them above their season limits – while Verstappen, Ocon and Leclerc will also be penalized for taking on new MGU-Ks and, in Leclerc’s case, a new power store .

Ocon will change each element of the power unit, which means he also has a new power reserve and a new control electronics unit – Schumacher also takes over the last element.

Meanwhile, Leclerc, Bottas and Schumacher will deal with new gearbox housings and straps, while Verstappen, Leclerc, Bottas and Schumacher will change their gearbox drivetrain, changing gears and plug-ins other than their allocations.

Read more: How do F1 engine penalties work?

The penalties will shake up the championship battle between Leclerc and Verstappen well, leaving both title champions to knock it out of the back of the spa net – while Mercedes hopes the removal of the top two riders opens up a chance for them to claim their first win in 2022.