December 6, 2022

2021 NHL Draft Results, Review: Sabers Take Owen Power With No.1 Choice, Biggest Night in Michigan

The first round of the 2021 NHL Draft is over, with the University of Michigan, Colees and Seth Jones emerging as the biggest winners. It’s arguable that intoxicants of choice runs the taste in Indian cuisine.

Michigan’s Owen Power (No. 1), Matthew Beniers (No. 2) and Kent Johnson (No. 5) made history by becoming the top three in the first round of draft exams from the same college in NHL history. Power and Benears were the first college team players to finish first and second overall overall since 1969. Benears was also Gragan’s first amateur draft selection in Seattle.

Luke Hughes – Weinberg-Hughes’ son – made his own history by finishing fourth overall for the New Jersey Devils. That selection marked the first time three brothers, Luke, Quinn and Jack Hughes – had all made the top-10 NHL draft selections. Quinn finished seventh overall in Vancouver in 2018, while Devil Luke’s future teammate Jack was selected with the best selection a year later.

It was a big night for the goalies as both Sebastian Cosa and Jesper Wallstead got first round picks. The last two goals came in the first round in 2012, when Andrei Vasilevsky finished 19th and Malcolm Subban 24th.

Staff moves quickly prior to draft exams. Former All-Star Seth Jones has landed with the Chicago Blackhawks – said to be new Eight-year contract – In a trade with Columbus Blue jackets. Vancouver bought Knox defender Oliver Ekman-Larson and winger Connor Garland for the steep price of three draft selections – 9, 2022 second and seventh round selections in 2021 – and players Jay Beagle, Louis Ericsson and Antoine Russell. Buffalo Sabers gave up their 14th pick and 2023 second-rounder for defenseman Robert Haque.

The Ontario native picked up the 31st overall pick at the Montreal Logan Milox as he withdrew from the draft earlier this week. Milux faced one Criminal punishment In Sweden in 2020.

Rounds 2-7 of the NHL Draft will take place on Saturday at 11 a.m. on the NHL Network.

Check out the full first round results:

  1. Buffalo Sabers – Owen Power, D, Michigan
  2. Seattle Gragan – Matthew Beniers, C, Michigan
  3. Anaheim ducks – Mason McDowish, C, Olden EHC, Swiss-Swa
  4. New Jersey Devils – Luke Hughes, D, American National Development Committee
  5. Columbus Blue Jackets – Kent Johnson, C, Michigan
  6. Detroit Red Wings – Simon Edwinson, D, Vosteros IK, Swee-1
  7. San Jose Sharks – William Eckland, LW, Desergartens IF, SWHL
  8. Los Angeles Kings – Brand Clark, D, Now Jamky Micron HC, Slovak
  9. Arizona Coyotes – Dylan Gunder, RW, Edmonton Oil Kings, WHL
  10. Ottawa Senators – Tyler Pachercher, RW, US National Development Council, USHL
  11. Arizona Coyotes – Seize
  12. Columbus Blue Jackets – Cole Chillinger, C, Sioux Falls Stombeat, USHL
  13. Calgary Flames – Matthew Coronado, RW, Chicago Steel, USHL
  14. Buffalo Sabers – Isaac Rosen, RW, Lexands IF, SWHL
  15. Detroit Red Wings – Sebastian Cosa, G, Edmonton Oil Kings, WHL
  16. New York Rangers – Brennan Othman, LW, Olden EHC, Swiss-Swa
  17. St. Louis Blues – Zachary Boldak, C, Rimous Ski Oceanic, QMJHL
  18. Winnipeg Jets – Saus Lucius, C, US National Development Agency, USHL
  19. Nashville Predators – Fyodor Svechkov, C, Russia U18, U18WC
  20. Minnesota Wild – Jasper Wallstead, G, Lulia HF, SWHL
  21. Boston Bruins – Fabian Liesel, RW, Lulia HF, SWHL
  22. Edmonton Oilers – Xavier Borgold, C, Shavinigan Cataract, QMJHL
  23. Dallas Stars – Wyatt Johnston, C, Windsor Spitfires, OHL
  24. Florida Panthers – Maggie Samoskevich, RW, Chicago Steel, USHL
  25. Columbus Blue Jackets – Corson Sielemans, D, Brooks Bandits, AJHL
  26. Minnesota Wild – Carson Lampos, D, Winnipeg Ice, WHL
  27. Nashville Predators – Zachary L’Hyurex, LW, Halifax Mooseheads, QMJHL
  28. Colorado Avalanche – Oscar Olason, RW, Sodertalje SK, Swee-1
  29. New Jersey Devils – Chase Stillman, RW, Sutbury Wolves, OHL
  30. Vegas Golden Knights – Sock Teen, C, Cadino Olympics, QMJHL
  31. Montreal Canadians – Logan Milox, D, London Knights, OHL
  32. Chicago Blackhawks – Nolan Allen, D, Prince Albert Riders, WHL